Skip to content

Back to Top link

28. Jul 2012

For logged in wordpess.com readers this does not matter at all, because the “wordpress.com bar” displays such a link already, when you scroll down. It’s a little button in the middle of the bar. It’s much more convenient compared to what I included for users that aren’t locked on.

Since today I include a “back to the top” link in the footer. I’m not allowed to use my own JavaScript, which is good in general and also good because I can’t mess around with it.

I use a text widget above my avatar and one in the (right) footer.
The first contains:

<a name="top"></a>


The second contains:

<a href="#top">Back to the Top</a>

It’s in the sidebar to work on all pages. It isn’t floating, therefore it made most sense to me to have it in the footer. The second disadvantage is that it doesn’t go all the way up to the top.

This blog isn’t self-hosted so I can’t edit the source directly. Maybe it’s still possible to solve this. Maybe one does know how to have something that floats around when you scroll down.

From → Private

Comments are closed.

