Skip to content

Spreading the Internet Defense League

28. Jul 2012

A few days ago I spotted a new graphic on torproject.org which linked to http://internetdefenseleague.org/.

I read about it and today I signed-up. The plan is to notify members of the league when Internet is in danger, e.g. SOPA, PIPA, CISPA, ACTA, IPRED are being discussed. The league should reach as many people as possible in order to make them act. e.g. calling or writing your local politician to vote against such a bill. The league serves as coordinator.

In order to reach as many people as possible members can place code on their websites that displays either a notification bar on the top or a modal all over the page. It’s possible to display all campaigns, which means you have to paste code once and whenever something happens your site displays the message. Fortunately it’s also possible to paste new code on every campaign, which means you can inspect the code, but you have to update it on your own.

The problem in my case is that this code is JavaScript and I’m not allowed to use JavaScript on my Blog, which makes my membership less useful.

On the lower right you can see a badge, which I host on my own. It links to http://internetdefenseleague.org/. Their plan is to measure the reach of the league by providing code which downloads the badge from their server. I could have used this code, but prefer not to be counted, since this Blog does not show any notification.

There are other badges to pick, when you don’t like the one I picked.

However I guess you will be notified anyway. WordPress.com is a member, so you may get notified by them. Imgur is pretty popular as well. Please have a look at the current members. Not every member is listed as far as I can tell.

I assume that I will be notified and then I can blog about it. Maybe we can spread the word.

Let’s try to spread the Internet Defense League.

From → General

Comments are closed.

